Council for Gulf Cooperation

A broader consortium of health ministers of Gulf States named as Health Ministers’ Council for Gulf Cooperation (GCC) is one of the specialized councils of GCC [19]. It was established in 1976. It is comprised of seven Gulf States: the Kingdom of Bahrain, the State of Kuwait, the Sultanate of Oman, the State of Qatar, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and the Republic of Yemen [19]. The basic aim of the Health Ministers’ Council for GCC States is the establishment of cooperation and coordination among the member countries [24].

Dubai Health Authority

The Dubai Health Authority (DHA), the regulator and operator of the Emirate of Dubai’s healthcare sector, oversees and sets healthcare policy and strategy, develops medical education and research, and regulates and issues licenses to all healthcare facilities and services in Dubai and its free trade zones. Universal healthcare expected to be fully implemented in Dubai by 2016 is its key priority [8]. The DHA serves the dual role of regulator and operator of the Emirate of Dubai’s healthcare sector.

< Prev   CONTENTS   Source   Next >