How does the United Nations preserve peace?

Established in 1945 at the end of World War II, the United Nations was created for the purpose of maintaining world peace. Its members pledge to work together to solve disputes. The United Nations also oversees many agencies that promote health, welfare, and cooperation around the world.

How many countries are members of the United Nations?

There are 192 member states of the United Nations, which is headquartered in New York City. New members include Serbia and Montenegro (from the former Yugoslavia), Tuvalu (an island nation in the Pacific), Timor-Leste (in what was once part of Indonesia), and Switzerland.

Which countries are not members of the United Nations?

While almost every country in the world is a member of the United Nations, there is a short list of countries that are not members: Taiwan, Tonga, and Vatican City.

Why do some countries choose not to join the United Nations?

A country must be willing to give up some of its self-rule for the greater good, which often means the good of the larger, western countries.

How did the League of Nations fail?

The League of Nations, which was created in 1920 and replaced by the United Nations in 1945, failed in its mission to prevent World War II. Even though the League was essentially the creation of President Woodrow Wilson, the isolationist United States never became a member.


Which countries are members of NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization)?

The 26 members of NATO include Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, the United

The headquarters of the United Nations is located in New York City.

The headquarters of the United Nations is located in New York City.

Kingdom, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and the United States.

How did the Soviet Bloc countries respond to the creation of NATO?

In 1955, seven Communist countries created the Warsaw Pact to protect against NATO aggression. The Warsaw Pact originally consisted of Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union. The Warsaw Pact disbanded in 1991 with the breakup of the U.S.S.R. and the changes in Eastern Europe.

What is the purpose of NATO now that the Soviet Union is gone?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) was founded in 1949 as an alliance of European and North American non-Communist countries committed to preventing and protecting against Communist threats. With relative stability in the former Soviet Union (now the Commonwealth of Independent States), NATO sees its role purely as defensive in nature, supporting member states and countries in need of assistance in the surrounding regions.

What did the domino effect have to do with United States involvement in the Vietnam War?

American military strategists believed that if one country became Communist, it would begin a never-ending succession of countries converting to Communism (thus the domino metaphor). North Vietnam, at the time of the American invasion, was comprised primarily of communist and communist sympathizers, whereas South Vietnam was more democratic-leaning. Policy makers believed that the United States had to do everything possible to keep every country from falling to communism. This included sending American troops to Vietnam. Though Vietnam fell to the Communists, the theory of the domino effect was proven incorrect because neighboring countries did not fall to communism as predicted. In fact, the U.S. war and policy toward Vietnam caused many adjacent countries to become even more fervently opposed to U.S. policy in the region, and some theorize that this contributed to turmoil and genocide in such countries as Cambodia and Laos.

Who won the Cold War?

The stalemate of the Cold War effectively ended when the people and governments of the former Soviet Union and Eastern Bloc countries decided that they needed a major change in the way in which they organized their government, societies, and economies. The fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989 was only one indicator of the significance of this trend. Popular demonstrations and changes took place in all parts of the

What criteria must an area meet to be considered an independent State?

A State must be an independent country with its own land, government, permanent population, transportation system, and economy, and it must have international recognition.

former U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe, leading inexorably to the downfall of the Soviet Union and its control of satellite states.

< Prev   CONTENTS   Next >